14 minutes read ·

U.S. Bank Bonuses and Promotions

US Bank logoU.S. Bank promotions include bonuses, welcome offers, promotional rates, referral incentives, and other deals for qualifying personal and business customers. Offers can change throughout the year, and eligibility requirements vary by product.

This page tracks current U.S. Bank bonuses and promotions available to qualifying customers in Utah, using official U.S. Bank sources for changing offer details. For more information about the bank, its products, and its Utah presence, see our U.S. Bank in Utah profile.

Always review the current U.S. Bank terms before opening an account, applying for a credit card, or participating in a promotion.

Some promotions may not be publicly advertised. Financial institutions may offer branch-only, relationship-based, preselected, or targeted promotions to certain customers. UtahFi includes offers that can be verified through public or otherwise reliable official sources, so additional promotions may be available to you directly through the institution.

Quick Summary

U.S. Bank bonuses and promotions currently include a consumer checking bonus of up to $450, business checking bonuses of $400 and $1,200, multiple credit card welcome offers, a promotional money market rate, and a mortgage client credit. The table below summarizes the current public offers documented on this page.

Category Current Offers
Checking Account Bonuses Up to $450 with U.S. Bank Smartly Checking; qualifying direct deposits required.
Savings Account Bonuses No current public savings account cash bonus identified.
Business Account Bonuses $400–$1,200 with Business Essentials or Platinum Business Checking; deposit, balance-maintenance and transaction requirements apply.
Credit Card Bonuses Current consumer and business card welcome offers include $200–$1,000 cash back or 20,000–75,000 bonus points, depending on the card and qualifying spending requirements.
Promotional Rates Up to 4.00% APY on qualifying Elite Money Market accounts and up to $750 in mortgage client credit.
Referral Programs No public consumer or business customer referral bonus with clearly defined current terms identified.
Member Deals and Discounts No public member deals or discounts with clearly defined promotional terms identified; personalized offers may be available to some customers.
Salt Lake City skyline divider with temple and Utah mountains

Checking Account Bonuses

U.S. Bank currently offers a bonus of up to $450 for eligible new U.S. Bank Smartly Checking customers who open an account and complete the required activities. The current public offer is scheduled to end November 10, 2026.

U.S. Bank Smartly Checking — Up to $450 Bonus

Detail Offer
Bonus Up to $450
Product type Consumer checking account
Account U.S. Bank Smartly Checking
Minimum to open $25
How to earn it Open an eligible new U.S. Bank Smartly Checking account through the promotional offer, enroll in online banking or the U.S. Bank Mobile App within 90 days, and complete two or more qualifying direct deposits within 90 days of opening the account.
Bonus tiers $250 with $2,000–$4,999.99 in qualifying direct deposits; $350 with $5,000–$7,999.99; or $450 with $8,000 or more.
Required holding period No separate promotional balance-holding period is stated. The account must remain open with a positive balance to receive the bonus.
Monthly service fee $12; waived for the first two statement periods. After that, the fee can be waived by meeting an eligible requirement, including $1,500+ in combined monthly direct deposits or maintaining a $1,500+ average account balance. Other waiver methods are available.
Potential account cost $0 monthly maintenance fee while a waiver requirement is met; otherwise $12 per month after the first two statement periods.
Potential bonus after fees Up to the full $450 if the monthly maintenance fee remains waived. Any monthly fees incurred before the bonus is paid would reduce the effective value of the promotion.
Fine print The account must be funded with at least $25 within 60 days of opening to prevent closure. Qualifying direct deposits include eligible payroll or government-benefit deposits; other electronic deposits and person-to-person payments do not qualify. Account owners cannot have an existing U.S. Bank consumer checking account, have had one within the previous 12 months, or have received another U.S. Bank consumer checking bonus within the previous 12 months. The bonus is generally credited within 30 days after completing all requirements, provided the account remains open with a positive balance, and is reported as interest for tax purposes. Other restrictions apply.
Expiration date November 10, 2026
Availability Available to qualifying customers in Utah, subject to U.S. Bank’s promotional eligibility requirements.
Who qualifies Eligible new U.S. Bank Smartly Checking customers who meet the promotional requirements. Existing customers and certain recent former customers or previous checking-bonus recipients are excluded as described above.

The maximum $450 bonus requires at least $8,000 in qualifying direct deposits during the 90-day qualification period. The required deposits remain the customer’s money and are not treated as a cost of earning the bonus.

More official info: U.S. Bank Smartly Checking bonus

Utah ski mountain divider illustration with snowy peaks and ski lifts

Savings Account Bonuses

No public U.S. Bank savings account bonuses are available at this time. U.S. Bank currently offers relationship and promotional rates on certain savings and money market accounts, which are covered under Promotional Rates below.

Business Account Bonuses

Current U.S. Bank promotions for business checking include a $400 bonus with Business Essentials and a $1,200 bonus with Platinum Business Checking. Both offers require new money, a 60-day balance requirement, and six qualifying transactions.

U.S. Bank Business Essentials — $400 Bonus

Detail Offer
Bonus $400
Product type Business checking account
Account U.S. Bank Business Essentials
Minimum to open $25
How to earn it Open a new Business Essentials account using promo code Q4DIG26, deposit at least $5,000 in new money within 30 days, maintain at least a $5,000 daily balance through the 60th day after account opening, and complete six qualifying transactions within 60 days.
Required holding period Maintain a daily balance of at least $5,000 through the 60th day after account opening.
Monthly service fee $0
Potential account cost $0 monthly maintenance fee. Other transaction or account-service fees may apply depending on how the account is used.
Potential bonus after fees Up to the full $400 because Business Essentials has a $0 monthly maintenance fee. Other account or transaction fees, if incurred, could reduce the effective value.
Fine print New money must come from outside U.S. Bank and cannot be transferred from another U.S. Bank product or affiliate. Qualifying transactions include debit card purchases, ACH and wire credits or debits, Zelle credits or debits, U.S. Bank mobile check deposits, electronic or paper check debits, qualifying U.S. Bank bill pay transactions, and payments received through U.S. Bank Payment Solutions. Certain person-to-person payments, credit card transfers, and transfers between U.S. Bank accounts do not qualify. Limit one bonus per business. Businesses with an existing U.S. Bank business checking account, or one closed within the previous 12 months, do not qualify. The account must remain open, have a positive balance, and remain the same checking product type through bonus payment.
Expiration date January 13, 2027
Availability Available to qualifying businesses in Utah, subject to U.S. Bank eligibility requirements.
Who qualifies Qualifying businesses opening a new Business Essentials account that satisfy the promotional requirements and U.S. Bank account-opening requirements.

The $5,000 deposit is not a cost of earning the bonus because the funds remain the business’s money. After all requirements are met, U.S. Bank says the $400 bonus will be deposited within 30 days after the month-end in which the requirements are completed.

For more information about the account itself, see our U.S. Bank Business Checking (Business Essentials) review.

More official info: U.S. Bank Business Essentials bonus

U.S. Bank Platinum Business Checking — $1,200 Bonus

Detail Offer
Bonus $1,200
Product type Business checking account
Account U.S. Bank Platinum Business Checking
Minimum to open $25
How to earn it Open a new Platinum Business Checking account using promo code Q4DIG26, deposit at least $25,000 in new money within 30 days, maintain at least a $25,000 daily balance through the 60th day after account opening, and complete six qualifying transactions within 60 days.
Required holding period Maintain a daily balance of at least $25,000 through the 60th day after account opening.
Monthly service fee $30, or $0 when a current waiver requirement is met.
Potential account cost $0 monthly maintenance fee while maintaining the promotional $25,000 balance, because a $25,000 average collected checking balance is one of the current fee-waiver methods. Otherwise, the monthly maintenance fee is $30.
Potential bonus after fees Up to the full $1,200 while the $30 monthly maintenance fee is waived. Maintaining the promotional $25,000 balance should also satisfy the current $25,000 average collected checking balance waiver if the applicable balance requirements are met.
Fine print New money must come from outside U.S. Bank and cannot be transferred from another U.S. Bank product or affiliate. Qualifying transactions include debit card purchases, ACH and wire credits or debits, Zelle credits or debits, U.S. Bank mobile check deposits, electronic or paper check debits, qualifying U.S. Bank bill pay transactions, and payments received through U.S. Bank Payment Solutions. Certain person-to-person payments, credit card transfers, and transfers between U.S. Bank accounts do not qualify. Limit one bonus per business. Businesses with an existing U.S. Bank business checking account, or one closed within the previous 12 months, do not qualify. The account must remain open, have a positive balance, and remain the same checking product type through bonus payment.
Expiration date January 13, 2027
Availability Available to qualifying businesses in Utah, subject to U.S. Bank eligibility requirements.
Who qualifies Qualifying businesses opening a new Platinum Business Checking account that satisfy the promotional requirements and U.S. Bank account-opening requirements.

The $25,000 promotional deposit is not a cost because the funds remain the business’s money. It also aligns with the account’s current $25,000 average collected checking balance method for waiving the $30 monthly maintenance fee. After the promotional requirements are met, U.S. Bank says the bonus will be deposited within 30 days after the month-end in which the requirements are completed.

More official info: U.S. Bank Platinum Business Checking bonus

Delicate Arch divider illustration with Utah desert and mountains

Credit Card Bonuses

Current U.S. Bank promotions include welcome offers on several consumer and business credit cards. Offers may provide cash back or bonus points after meeting the applicable spending requirement, and terms can change without notice.

Consumer Credit Cards

Card Welcome Offer Requirement Annual Fee
U.S. Bank Cash+ $200 cash back $1,000 in eligible purchases within 90 days $0
U.S. Bank Altitude Go 20,000 bonus points $1,000 in eligible purchases within 90 days $0
U.S. Bank Altitude Connect 20,000 bonus points $1,000 in eligible purchases within 90 days $0

Welcome offers are available to qualifying new cardmembers and are subject to credit approval and U.S. Bank’s current eligibility rules. Required spending means eligible net purchases after returns and credits; cash advances, balance transfers and certain other transactions generally do not qualify. Bonus timing and redemption options vary by card.

More official info: U.S. Bank consumer credit cards

Business Credit Cards

Card Welcome Offer Requirement Annual Fee
Business Essentials $500 cash back $5,000 in eligible net purchases within 150 days $0
Business Essentials Plus $1,000 cash back $15,000 in eligible net purchases within 150 days $295
Business Triple Cash Rewards $750 cash back $6,000 in eligible net purchases within 180 days $0
Business Leverage 75,000 bonus points Meet the current eligible-purchase requirement after account opening Current card terms apply
Business Altitude Power 75,000 bonus points Meet the current eligible-purchase requirement after account opening Current card terms apply
Business Altitude Connect 75,000 bonus points $6,000 in eligible net purchases within 180 days $0 introductory annual fee for the first year; annual fee applies thereafter

Business card welcome offers are subject to credit approval and the terms presented when applying. Eligible net purchases generally exclude returns, credits, cash advances, balance transfers and other transactions identified by U.S. Bank. U.S. Bank advertises the Business Essentials and Business Essentials Plus welcome offers as cash-back amounts, although the rewards are issued as points. For other points-based offers, UtahFi reports the points advertised by U.S. Bank and does not independently assign a cash value.

More official info: U.S. Bank business credit cards

Great Salt Lake divider illustration with Utah mountains and shoreline

Promotional Rates

Current U.S. Bank promotions include a promotional rate on qualifying Elite Money Market accounts and a mortgage client credit for eligible borrowers. These offers have different eligibility, balance, account, and timing requirements, so they are listed separately from cash account bonuses.

U.S. Bank Elite Money Market — Up to 4.00% APY

Detail Offer
Promotional rate Up to 4.00% APY
Product type Money market account
Minimum to open $100
How to qualify Open a new U.S. Bank Elite Money Market account and deposit at least $25,000 within 30 days of account opening. The promotional rate is also available on qualifying existing Elite Money Market accounts that have been open for less than 30 days.
Balance requirement Deposit at least $25,000 within 30 days and maintain a minimum daily balance of at least $25,000 thereafter to continue receiving the promotional rate.
Rate after promotion If the balance falls below $25,000, U.S. Bank applies the standard interest rate until the balance again reaches at least $25,000. Rates are variable and may change at any time.
Potential cost $10 monthly maintenance fee unless waived by maintaining a $10,000 minimum daily balance or meeting another eligible waiver requirement. Maintaining the $25,000 promotional balance satisfies the balance-based fee waiver.
Fine print The rate offer is available to qualifying customers who do not have an existing U.S. Bank consumer savings or money market account, or whose existing consumer savings or money market account has been open for less than 30 days. Customers who closed a U.S. Bank consumer savings or money market account within the previous 30 days are not eligible for the advertised rate. Interest rates and APYs are variable and may change at U.S. Bank’s discretion, including after account opening.
Expiration date Not publicly specified
Availability Available to qualifying customers in Utah. APYs may vary by location.
Who qualifies Qualifying new or recently opened Elite Money Market customers who satisfy the account-history and $25,000 balance requirements.

The $25,000 required balance is not treated as a cost because the funds remain the customer’s money. Maintaining that balance also exceeds the current $10,000 balance requirement for waiving the $10 monthly maintenance fee.

More official info: U.S. Bank Elite Money Market rate offer

U.S. Bank Mortgage Client Credit — Up to $750

Detail Offer
Offer 0.25% of the loan amount toward eligible closing costs, up to $750
Product type Mortgage purchase or refinance
How to qualify Obtain an eligible new first mortgage from U.S. Bank and complete enrollment in automatic payments from a U.S. Bank consumer checking account before final loan approval.
Potential value 0.25% of the mortgage loan amount, capped at $750. A loan amount of $300,000 or more reaches the maximum $750 credit.
Potential cost Mortgage rates, closing costs and other loan expenses still apply. A U.S. Bank consumer checking account is required for the qualifying autopay relationship; applicable checking account fees and requirements depend on the account used.
Fine print The credit is applied as a reduction of eligible mortgage closing costs at closing. Certain mortgages may not qualify. The offer cannot be combined with another U.S. Bank mortgage offer and can be applied only once per property within a 12-month period. Automatic payment enrollment must be completed before final loan approval, although autopay is not required for loan approval itself. Loan approval remains subject to credit approval and program guidelines.
Expiration date Not publicly specified
Availability Available on qualifying U.S. Bank mortgage purchase and refinance transactions, subject to loan-program and geographic availability. U.S. Bank offers mortgage lending in Utah.
Who qualifies Qualifying U.S. Bank mortgage borrowers who establish the required U.S. Bank checking-account autopay relationship before final loan approval.

The maximum $750 is a closing-cost credit, not a cash bonus. U.S. Bank calculates the credit as 0.25% of the loan amount and applies it against eligible closing costs when the mortgage closes. Both eligible home purchases and refinances can qualify.

More official info: U.S. Bank mortgage client credit

Referral Programs

No public U.S. Bank consumer or business customer referral bonus is currently available. U.S. Bank may periodically provide targeted or customer-specific referral offers that are not publicly advertised.

Member Deals and Discounts

No public U.S. Bank member deals or discounts with clearly defined promotional terms are currently available. Personalized or customer-specific offers may be available to some U.S. Bank customers.

Salt Lake City skyline divider with temple and Utah mountains

Frequently Asked Questions

These answers cover common questions about current U.S. Bank promotions, including eligibility, business checking offers, credit card bonuses, and targeted promotions.

Does U.S. Bank currently offer a checking account bonus?

Yes. U.S. Bank currently offers up to $450 for qualifying new U.S. Bank Smartly Checking customers. The bonus amount depends on the total qualifying direct deposits completed during the 90-day qualification period. The current public offer expires November 10, 2026.

Does U.S. Bank offer a business checking bonus?

Yes. Qualifying businesses can currently earn $400 for opening U.S. Bank Business Essentials or $1,200 for opening U.S. Bank Platinum Business Checking. Both offers require new money, maintaining the required balance through the 60th day, and completing six qualifying transactions. The current offers expire January 13, 2027.

How can a business earn the $1,200 U.S. Bank bonus?

A qualifying business must open a new U.S. Bank Platinum Business Checking account using promo code Q4DIG26, deposit at least $25,000 in new money within 30 days, maintain a daily balance of at least $25,000 through the 60th day after opening, and complete six qualifying transactions within 60 days. Additional eligibility restrictions apply.

Does U.S. Bank offer credit card welcome bonuses?

Yes. U.S. Bank currently offers public welcome bonuses on several consumer and business credit cards. Depending on the card, a bonus may be offered as cash back or points after meeting a specified eligible-purchase requirement. Credit card offers can change without notice, so applicants should review the current U.S. Bank offer before applying.

Can existing U.S. Bank customers qualify for new bonuses?

It depends on the promotion. Some offers allow existing U.S. Bank customers to qualify when opening a different eligible product, while others exclude customers who currently have or recently closed the same type of account. Each promotion has its own account-history and previous-bonus restrictions.

Does U.S. Bank currently have a referral bonus?

No public U.S. Bank consumer or business customer referral bonus with clearly defined current terms was identified. U.S. Bank may periodically provide targeted or customer-specific referral offers that are not publicly available.

Are U.S. Bank promotions available in Utah?

The promotions documented on this page are available to qualifying Utah consumers or businesses based on the current public terms reviewed by UtahFi. Eligibility can still depend on the specific product, applicant, account history, credit approval, or other promotional requirements.

Are U.S. Bank promotions taxable?

Some bank-account bonuses may be reported as taxable income. For example, U.S. Bank states that its current Smartly Checking bonus is reported as interest for tax purposes. Tax treatment can vary by promotion and individual circumstances, so customers should consult the applicable tax documents or a qualified tax professional when necessary.

Can U.S. Bank have promotions that are not advertised publicly?

Yes. U.S. Bank may provide branch-only offers, targeted mail or email promotions, preselected credit card offers, online or mobile banking offers, relationship-based incentives, personalized merchant deals, and other customer-specific promotions. These offers may not appear publicly or may differ between customers. UtahFi primarily documents promotions that can be reliably verified through public or otherwise reliable official U.S. Bank sources.

Utah ski mountain divider illustration with snowy peaks and ski lifts

Disclaimer: Promotions, bonuses, rates, eligibility requirements, and other offer terms may change or be discontinued without prior notice. UtahFi works to keep this information current but cannot guarantee that all offer details remain unchanged. Always verify the latest terms and conditions directly with the financial institution before opening an account, applying for a product, or participating in an offer.