11 minutes read ·

Goldenwest Credit Union Promotions Overview

Goldenwest Credit UnionGoldenwest Credit Union bonuses and promotions include checking and youth incentives, credit card bonuses, promotional rates, relationship discounts, and member rewards available to qualifying Utah members. Eligibility and availability vary by offer, product, age, account relationship, and promotional period.

This page tracks Goldenwest’s current public bonuses and promotions separately from its standard products and ongoing account features. For broader information about membership, accounts, loans, and services, see the Goldenwest Credit Union profile.

Some promotions may not be publicly advertised. Financial institutions may offer branch-only, relationship-based, preselected, or targeted promotions to certain customers. UtahFi includes offers that can be verified through public or otherwise reliable official sources, so additional promotions may be available to you directly through the institution.

Quick Summary

Current Goldenwest Credit Union promotions include youth account incentives, consumer and business credit card offers, promotional financing, relationship-based benefits, and member discounts.

Category Current Offers
Checking Account Bonuses Smart Money Offer worth up to $250 for qualifying members ages 13–25; expires December 31, 2026.
Savings Account Bonuses $10 Kids Club deposit and a Dollar Dog promotional item for qualifying new accounts opened with at least $25.
Business Account Bonuses No public business checking or savings signup bonus; Business Reward Yourself Checking provides ongoing relationship benefits.
Credit Card Bonuses Consumer offer: $100 Gold Account deposit and 0% purchase APR for six months. Business offer: 25,000 or 50,000 bonus points after meeting the applicable spending requirement.
Promotional Rates Current offers include a 6.00% APY Gold Account, a 3.33% introductory HELOC APR, deferred loan payments, mortgage refinancing benefits, and relationship-based rate discounts.
Referral Programs No public consumer or business member referral bonus is currently available.
Member Deals and Discounts Includes insurance savings, an identity-theft recovery discount, and a 90-day Positive Pay trial for qualifying business members.
Salt Lake City skyline divider with temple and Utah mountains

Checking Account Bonuses

Among current Goldenwest Credit Union bonuses and promotions, the main public checking offer is the Smart Money Offer for members ages 13–25. The credit union does not currently advertise a comparable general checking signup bonus for all adults.

Smart Money Offer — Up to $250

Detail Offer
Bonus Up to $250 for a new qualifying account; up to $200 for an existing youth account
Product type Youth and young-adult checking bonus
Account SMARTStart or SMARTPay Checking
Minimum to open Not stated in the promotional terms
How to earn it
  • $50: Open a new eligible account with a debit card and eStatements.
  • $50: Complete six outgoing debit-card transactions within 90 days.
  • $100: Complete the required Smart Money courses within one year with an 80% passing score.
  • $50: Keep the account active and in good standing for one year.
Required holding period One year to earn the final $50; earlier deposits are paid after their individual requirements are completed
Monthly service fee $0
Potential account cost $0 in monthly service fees over the one-year qualification period
Potential bonus after fees Up to $250, assuming no other account charges
Fine print Members ages 13–17 must complete 10 courses and record at least 24 qualifying account transactions during the year. Members ages 18–25 must complete five courses and record at least 60 qualifying transactions. The offer cannot be combined with another offer.
Expiration date December 31, 2026
Availability Online or at a Goldenwest branch; available to qualifying Utah members
Who qualifies Goldenwest members ages 13–25. Members under 18 need a parent or qualified joint owner. Existing eligible youth-account holders may activate steps 2–4 and earn up to $200.

More official info: Goldenwest Smart Money Offer

Utah ski mountain divider illustration with snowy peaks and ski lifts

Savings Account Bonuses

Current Goldenwest Credit Union promotions include a small incentive for opening a Kids Club Savings Account. No general savings signup bonus is currently advertised for adults.

Kids Club Savings — $10 Deposit and Dollar Dog

Detail Offer
Bonus $10 account deposit and a Dollar Dog promotional item
Product type Children’s savings account bonus
Account Kids Club Savings Account
Minimum to open $5 for the account; an initial deposit of at least $25 is required for the promotion
How to earn it Open a new Kids Club Savings Account and make an initial deposit of at least $25
Required holding period No bonus holding period stated; a $5 minimum balance is required to maintain the account
Monthly service fee $0
Potential account cost $0 in monthly service fees
Potential bonus after fees $10, plus the Dollar Dog promotional item
Fine print Available on new accounts only. A qualifying adult must be a joint member. The offer cannot be combined with another offer. Dollar Dog is available at branch locations while supplies last.
Expiration date Not stated
Availability The account may be opened online or at a Goldenwest branch; Dollar Dog is available at branches while supplies last
Who qualifies Qualifying Goldenwest members ages 12 and younger with an eligible adult joint member

More official info: Goldenwest Kids Club Savings Account

Goldenwest also distributes an annual Golden Rewards Loyalty Bonus based on member engagement. However, the current public disclosure still identifies the December 31, 2025 distribution, so UtahFi does not list a 2026 amount or payment date as confirmed.

Utah State Capitol divider illustration with mountain landscape background

Business Account Bonuses

No current public Goldenwest Credit Union bonuses and promotions were found for opening a business checking or savings account or enrolling in merchant services.

Business Reward Yourself Checking provides ongoing benefits—including higher rewards, loan discounts, a certificate rate bump, and waived account fees—but Goldenwest does not present these features as a temporary signup bonus. Current business credit card offers are covered separately under Credit Card Bonuses.

More official info: Business Reward Yourself Checking

Credit Card Bonuses

Current Goldenwest Credit Union promotions include separate welcome offers for new consumer and business Visa credit cards.

Consumer Credit Cards

$100 Gold Account Deposit and 0% Purchase APR

Detail Offer
Bonus or offer $100 deposit into the member’s Gold Account and 0% APR on purchases for the first six months
Product type New Goldenwest consumer Visa credit card
How to earn it Open an eligible new consumer Visa card and complete five purchases within the first six months. The 0% introductory APR applies to eligible purchases made during the first six months.
Required spending Five purchases; no minimum dollar amount is stated
Annual fee $0
Potential bonus after annual fee $100, plus the temporary 0% purchase APR
Fine print The 0% APR does not apply to cash advances or balance transfers. Conversions from an existing Visa do not qualify. Limited to one offer per account or qualifying member and cannot be combined with a new business credit card offer. Subject to credit approval.
Expiration date September 30, 2026
Availability Available on qualifying new Goldenwest or USU Credit Union consumer Visa cards, including eligible Goldenwest members in Utah
Who qualifies Primary members age 18 or older approved for a new eligible consumer Visa credit card

More official info: Goldenwest consumer Visa promotion

Business Credit Cards

Business Visa Rewards — 25,000 or 50,000 Bonus Points

Detail Offer
Bonus or offer 25,000 bonus points, or 50,000 bonus points with active Business Reward Yourself Checking
Product type New Business Visa Rewards Credit Card
How to earn it Spend $3,000 within 90 days to earn 25,000 points. Businesses with active Business Reward Yourself Checking can instead spend $5,000 within 90 days to earn 50,000 points.
Required spending $3,000 for 25,000 points; $5,000 for 50,000 points
Annual fee $0
Potential bonus after annual fee 25,000 or 50,000 points with no annual fee; UtahFi does not assign an unofficial cash value to the points
Fine print Available on new Business Visa Rewards cards only. Limited to one offer per business account or EIN. The 50,000-point offer requires active Business Reward Yourself Checking. Consumer credit cards are excluded.
Expiration date Not stated
Availability Available to qualifying Goldenwest business members in Utah
Who qualifies Qualifying businesses approved for a new Business Visa Rewards Credit Card; the higher offer also requires active Business Reward Yourself Checking

More official info: Goldenwest Business Visa Rewards Credit Card

Great Salt Lake divider illustration with Utah mountains and shoreline

Promotional Rates

Goldenwest Credit Union bonuses and promotions include several rates and financing benefits that provide something beyond the credit union’s ordinary product terms. Current offers include a high-yield loyalty account, introductory HELOC financing, deferred loan payments, mortgage refinancing benefits, and relationship-based discounts.

Gold Account — 6.00% APY

Detail Offer
Rate 6.00% APY
Account fee $0
Eligibility Goldenwest members receive a Gold Account as a loyalty savings account.
Funding restrictions Members cannot make ordinary deposits. Funds enter through Golden Rewards Loyalty Bonuses, Round Up Rewards, Visa cash back, and qualifying promotional offers.
Access Withdrawals and transfers out are allowed at any time.
Availability Ongoing while the published rate remains in effect.

More official info: Goldenwest Gold Account

HELOC Promotional Advance — 3.33% APR for 180 Days

Detail Offer
Introductory rate 3.33% fixed APR for 180 days
Minimum advance $10,000 in one qualifying advance
Eligible accounts Qualifying new or existing Cashliner 4 and Cashliner 5 HELOCs
Advance period July 1 through September 30, 2026
After 180 days Any remaining promotional balance converts to the variable APR specified in the member’s HELOC agreement.
Important limits One promotional advance per member. HELOCs that received the same promotional rate from April 1 through June 30, 2026 are excluded. Credit approval, property insurance, and other restrictions apply.
Closing costs Estimated at $500–$1,000. Goldenwest may pay them for qualifying applications, but reimbursement is required if the line closes within 24 months.

More official info: Goldenwest HELOC Special Offer

Great Outdoors Powersports Financing

Detail Offer
Promotional rate As low as 7.99% fixed APR
Payment deferral First payment deferred for 90 days
Eligible vehicles ATVs, UTVs, motorcycles, and snow machines purchased at a Young Powersports dealership
Borrower requirements Well-qualified borrowers with a FICO score of 740 or higher; financing must be completed onsite through Goldenwest or USU Credit Union.
Maximum term Up to 75 months
Offer period August 27–31, 2026

More official info: Great Outdoors Powersports Sale

Auto Loans — Up to 90 Days with No Payment

Detail Offer
Offer Defer the first payment for up to 90 days from the loan closing date.
Minimum loan $10,000
Eligible financing Consumer new-vehicle purchases and refinances from an outside lender
Credit requirement VantageScore of 680 or higher
Exclusions Business auto loans and existing Goldenwest loans are not eligible.
Important term Interest continues to accrue during the deferral period.
Expiration No public end date stated; offer is subject to change.

More official info: Goldenwest Auto Loan Special Offer

Free-Fi Mortgage Refinance Benefit

Detail Offer
Benefit Purchase or refinance an eligible owner-occupied home, then refinance again within three years with qualifying lender fees waived.
Waiting period At least six on-time mortgage payments
Fee waiver Origination fee waiver up to 1% of the loan amount or $4,000, whichever is less
Eligible first loan Qualifying conventional, Goldenwest 5/1 or 7/1 ARM, FHA, VA, or USDA purchase or refinance loan
Eligible later refinance 15- to 30-year conventional loan; portfolio loans are excluded.
Additional costs Third-party charges, including title, appraisal, credit, and recording fees, remain the borrower’s responsibility.
Availability Applications taken on or after May 13, 2024; no public end date stated and the offer is subject to change.

More official info: Goldenwest Free-Fi Mortgage Offer

Ongoing Relationship Rate Benefits

Detail Offer
Reward Yourself Checking 0.25% rate discount on qualifying auto, RV, and signature loans, plus up to a $450 credit toward a home appraisal. Monthly eStatement, direct-deposit, and card-purchase requirements apply.
Business Reward Yourself Checking 0.25% rate discount on business-purpose auto loans and a 0.25% rate bump on business certificates.
President’s Club 0.25% APY bump on certificates for opted-in members who maintain at least $50,000 in aggregate deposits.

More official info: Reward Yourself Checking Benefits
More official info: Business Reward Yourself Checking Benefits
More official info: Goldenwest President’s Club

Great Salt Lake divider illustration with Utah mountains and shoreline

Referral Programs

No public consumer or business member referral bonus is currently available.

Although current Goldenwest Credit Union promotions do not include a referral reward, certain individuals can qualify for membership through an immediate family member. Family-based eligibility does not provide a published cash bonus.

Member Deals and Discounts

Separate from Goldenwest’s rewards programs, current Goldenwest Credit Union bonuses and promotions include insurance savings, an identity-theft recovery discount, and a free business fraud-protection trial.

Current Member Deals and Discounts

Detail Offer
Identity-theft recovery discount Reward Yourself Checking members can receive up to a 30% discount on qualifying identity-theft recovery services when monthly account requirements are met.
Insurance savings Goldenwest Insurance Services states that members have saved up to 35% on insurance. Actual savings depend on the policy, insurer, applicant, and available discounts.
Positive Pay free trial Qualifying business members can try Goldenwest Positive Pay free for 90 days. Standard fees begin on day 91 unless the service is canceled during the trial.

More official info: Reward Yourself Checking Benefits
More official info: Goldenwest Insurance Quick Quotes
More official info: Goldenwest Positive Pay

Salt Lake City skyline divider with temple and Utah mountains

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Goldenwest Credit Union currently offer a checking bonus?

Yes. Among current Goldenwest Credit Union promotions, the Smart Money Offer allows qualifying members ages 13–25 to earn up to $250 with a new SMARTStart or SMARTPay Checking account. Existing eligible youth-account holders can activate part of the offer and earn up to $200. Goldenwest does not currently advertise a comparable general checking signup bonus for all adults.

What is the Goldenwest Smart Money offer?

The Smart Money Offer rewards eligible members for opening or using a youth checking account, completing debit-card transactions, finishing financial education courses, and keeping the account active and in good standing for one year. The offer is scheduled to expire December 31, 2026.

Does Goldenwest offer credit card bonuses?

Yes. Qualifying new consumer Visa cardholders can receive a $100 Gold Account deposit after completing five purchases and receive 0% APR on eligible purchases for six months. Goldenwest also offers 25,000 or 50,000 bonus points on qualifying new Business Visa Rewards cards, depending on spending and the business checking relationship.

Does Reward Yourself Checking include loan discounts?

Yes. Qualifying Reward Yourself Checking members can receive a 0.25% rate discount on eligible auto, RV, and signature loans, up to a $450 home-appraisal credit, and up to a 30% discount on qualifying identity-theft recovery services. Monthly eStatement, direct-deposit, and card-purchase requirements apply.

Does Goldenwest offer a year-end member loyalty bonus?

Goldenwest describes the Golden Rewards Loyalty Bonus as an annual member benefit based on qualifying deposits, transactions, loans, and insurance relationships. However, the current public disclosure still identifies December 31, 2025, as the most recent distribution date. A 2026 amount and payment date have not been publicly confirmed.

Does Goldenwest have a referral bonus?

No public consumer or business member referral bonus is currently available. Immediate family relationships may help someone qualify for membership, but family-based eligibility does not provide a published referral reward.

Can Goldenwest Credit Union have promotions that are not advertised publicly?

Yes. Goldenwest may provide targeted, branch-specific, relationship-based, digital, or affiliated-credit-union offers that are not displayed on its public website. UtahFi tracks publicly verifiable offers and does not present unconfirmed or individually targeted promotions as broadly available.

Utah ski mountain divider illustration with snowy peaks and ski lifts

Disclaimer: Promotions, bonuses, rates, eligibility requirements, and other offer terms may change or be discontinued without prior notice. UtahFi works to keep this information current but cannot guarantee that all offer details remain unchanged. Always verify the latest terms and conditions directly with the financial institution before opening an account, applying for a product, or participating in an offer.