Overview
Savings account bonuses in Utah can give new or existing customers extra cash for opening an eligible savings account, depositing new money, maintaining a required balance, or completing other qualifying savings activity. Bonus amounts, deposit requirements, holding periods, eligibility rules, and payment timing can vary significantly by institution.
This article compares current savings account bonuses available from banks and credit unions UtahFi has reviewed, with each offer listed by its maximum advertised savings-related bonus amount. For a broader explanation of the terminology used throughout UtahFi’s Incentives category, see Bank Bonuses, Promotions, Rewards, and Incentives: What’s the Difference?
Offers are listed by maximum advertised savings-related bonus amount, from highest to lowest. This ordering does not represent a UtahFi ranking or recommendation. UtahFi has not reviewed every savings account bonus available in Utah, so additional offers may be available from institutions not yet included in this article. As UtahFi reviews additional institutions and verifies qualifying savings bonuses, those offers will be added.
Use the comparison below to review current offers, then check the individual bonus sections for deposit requirements, balance rules, eligibility, deadlines, and official promotion details.
Table of Contents
Quick Comparison: Savings Account Bonuses in Utah
The table below compares current savings account bonuses from banks and credit unions UtahFi has reviewed. Requirements are simplified for comparison; review the individual offer sections below for eligibility, qualification details, deadlines, and bonus timing.
| Institution | Savings Account | Maximum Bonus | Key Requirement | Expiration |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase Bank | Chase Savings | Up to $200 | Deposit $5,000+ in qualifying new money and maintain the required balance for 90 days | Oct. 14, 2026 |
| Canyon View Credit Union | Student Account / Primary Savings | Up to $100 | Qualifying new student membership and at least $10 maintained in Primary Savings | No stated end date |
| BMO Bank | Savings Builder | Up to $60 | Grow the account balance by at least $200 during each qualifying month | No stated end date |
| America First Credit Union | Military Dedicated Savings | Up to $50 | Open a new Dedicated Savings account with a minimum 12-month term | No stated end date |
| Goldenwest Credit Union | Kids Club Savings | $10 | Open with at least $25; available to qualifying children age 12 or younger | No stated end date |
| UCCU | BeMoneySmart Baby Bucks | $10 | Open an eligible BeMoneySmart Savings Account before the child’s first birthday | No stated end date |
Some offers have additional age, student, military, membership, new-customer, or other eligibility restrictions. Review the individual offer details and official promotion terms before opening or funding an account.
Chase Savings — Up to $200
Chase Bank currently offers qualifying new Chase Savings customers up to $200 for depositing and maintaining qualifying new money in a new savings account.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Chase Bank |
| Account | Chase Savings |
| Bonus | Up to $200 |
| Requirements | Deposit at least $5,000 in qualifying new money within 30 days of offer enrollment and maintain the required balance for 90 days |
| New Money Requirement | Yes. Qualifying deposits must generally come from outside Chase or its affiliates |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $0 to open the account; at least $5,000 in qualifying new money is required to earn a bonus |
| Balance Requirement | Maintain $5,000 to $9,999.99 for the $100 bonus or $10,000 or more for the $200 bonus for 90 days |
| Monthly Fee | $5, with available waiver options including maintaining at least $300 in the account at the beginning of each day |
| Eligibility | Qualifying new Chase Savings customers. Existing Chase savings customers and certain recent former customers are excluded |
| Deadline | October 14, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The bonus is generally deposited within 15 days after completing the requirements |
| Official Offer | View Chase Savings Bonus Offer |
Chase uses a two-tier bonus structure. Customers who deposit and maintain $5,000 to $9,999.99 in qualifying new money can earn $100, while customers who deposit and maintain $10,000 or more can earn $200.
The required funds generally must come from outside Chase. Existing balances already held at Chase or affiliated institutions may not satisfy the promotion’s new-money requirement.
Because the promotional balance requirement is higher than the balance needed to waive the standard monthly service fee, customers who maintain the required bonus balance should generally avoid the $5 monthly fee during the qualification period.
For Chase’s other current incentives, see Chase Bank Promotions.
Review the official Chase offer before opening or funding the account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
Canyon View Credit Union Student Account — Up to $100
Canyon View Credit Union currently offers qualifying new student members up to $100. The promotion requires maintaining at least $10 in Primary Savings and is available to eligible students age 12 or older.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Canyon View Credit Union |
| Account | Primary Savings as part of a qualifying student membership |
| Bonus | Up to $100 |
| Requirements | Join Canyon View Credit Union as a qualifying new student member, mention the promotion when opening the account, and keep the account in good standing for 6 months to receive the full $100 |
| New Money Requirement | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $10 minimum balance in Primary Savings |
| Balance Requirement | Maintain at least $10 in Primary Savings |
| Monthly Fee | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Eligibility | New student members age 12 or older who are enrolled in a secondary school or an accredited college or university and qualify for Canyon View Credit Union membership |
| Deadline | Ongoing; subject to change |
| Bonus Timing | $50 is deposited after opening the qualifying account, and another $50 is deposited after 6 months if the account remains in good standing |
| Official Offer | View Canyon View Student Offer |
Canyon View structures this promotion as two $50 payments. The first $50 is deposited when the qualifying student opens the account, and the second $50 is deposited after 6 months if the account remains in good standing.
This is a restricted student promotion. Students must be age 12 or older and enrolled in a secondary school or an accredited college or university. Students under age 18 should open the account with a parent or guardian.
The promotion requires a $10 minimum balance in Primary Savings, which is why UtahFi includes it in this savings account bonus comparison even though Canyon View markets the offer more broadly as a student new-member promotion.
For Canyon View’s other current incentives, see Canyon View Credit Union Promotions.
Review the official Canyon View offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
BMO Savings Builder — Up to $60
BMO Bank currently offers Savings Builder customers up to $60 in savings rewards during the first year after opening the account.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | BMO Bank |
| Account | BMO Savings Builder |
| Bonus | Up to $60 |
| Requirements | Grow the account balance by at least $200 during a qualifying month to earn a $5 savings reward for that month, for up to 12 months |
| New Money Requirement | No separate external new-money requirement is stated; qualification is based on monthly balance growth |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $25 |
| Balance Requirement | The ledger balance must grow by at least $200 during each month in which the customer wants to earn the $5 reward |
| Monthly Fee | $0 |
| Eligibility | Savings Builder accounts are eligible for up to 12 monthly savings rewards beginning with the month the account is opened |
| Deadline | No stated expiration date |
| Bonus Timing | Each earned $5 savings reward is credited within 5 calendar days after the end of the qualifying month |
| Official Offer | View BMO Savings Builder Offer |
BMO structures this offer as 12 possible $5 monthly rewards rather than one $60 payment. For each qualifying month in which the Savings Builder balance grows by at least $200, BMO credits another $5 reward.
BMO compares the account’s ledger balance on the last business day of the previous month with the balance on the last business day of the current month. Interest and previously paid savings rewards do not count toward the required $200 balance growth.
The account is eligible for up to 12 monthly savings rewards beginning with the month it is opened. If the initial deposit is not received until the following month, BMO states that the account may be eligible for only 11 rewards.
For BMO’s other current incentives, see BMO Bank Promotions.
Review the official BMO offer before opening an account to confirm the savings reward remains available and that you meet the current requirements.
America First Military Dedicated Savings — Up to $50
America First Credit Union currently offers qualifying military members up to $50 when opening a new Dedicated Savings account with a minimum 12-month term.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | America First Credit Union |
| Account | Dedicated Savings |
| Bonus | Up to $50 |
| Requirements | Open a new Dedicated Savings account with a minimum 12-month term. America First matches the initial deposit up to $50. |
| New Money Requirement | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | No minimum opening balance is stated for Dedicated Savings; the bonus matches the qualifying initial deposit up to $50 |
| Balance Requirement | No separate minimum balance requirement is stated for the bonus; the account must have a minimum 12-month term |
| Monthly Fee | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Eligibility | Qualifying military members who meet America First membership and promotional requirements |
| Deadline | No stated expiration date |
| Bonus Timing | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Official Offer | View America First Military Savings Offer |
America First structures this promotion as an initial-deposit match. The credit union matches the amount deposited when the qualifying Dedicated Savings account is opened, up to a maximum bonus of $50.
The offer is restricted to qualifying military members and requires a Dedicated Savings account with a minimum 12-month term. America First currently states that Dedicated Savings itself has no minimum opening balance, although the amount of the initial deposit determines the size of the promotional match.
For America First’s other current incentives, see America First Credit Union Promotions.
Review the official America First offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current military and membership requirements.
Goldenwest Kids Club Savings — $10
Goldenwest Credit Union currently offers eligible children a $10 deposit when opening a new Kids Club Savings Account and meeting the promotional funding requirement.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Goldenwest Credit Union |
| Account | Kids Club Savings Account |
| Bonus | $10 |
| Requirements | Open a new Kids Club Savings Account and make an initial deposit of at least $25 to receive the $10 promotional deposit |
| New Money Requirement | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $5 to open and maintain the account; $25 initial deposit is required to receive the $10 promotion |
| Balance Requirement | Maintain at least $5 in the account |
| Monthly Fee | $0 |
| Eligibility | Children age 12 or younger who qualify for Goldenwest membership. A qualifying adult must be a joint member on the account. |
| Deadline | No stated expiration date |
| Bonus Timing | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Official Offer | View Goldenwest Kids Club Savings Offer |
Goldenwest provides the promotion as a $10 deposit into the new Kids Club Savings Account. To qualify, the account must be opened with an initial deposit of at least $25, even though the standard minimum balance to open and maintain the account is $5.
This is a restricted youth offer available to children age 12 or younger. A qualifying adult must be a joint member on the account, and Goldenwest membership and account eligibility requirements apply.
For Goldenwest’s other current incentives, see Goldenwest Credit Union Promotions.
Review the official Goldenwest offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current membership and eligibility requirements.
UCCU BeMoneySmart Baby Bucks — $10
UCCU currently offers eligible young members a $10 Baby Bucks deposit when a BeMoneySmart Savings Account is opened before the child’s first birthday.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | UCCU |
| Account | BeMoneySmart Savings Account |
| Bonus | $10 |
| Requirements | Open a BeMoneySmart Savings Account before the child’s first birthday to receive UCCU’s $10 Baby Bucks deposit |
| New Money Requirement | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Balance Requirement | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Monthly Fee | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Eligibility | Children whose BeMoneySmart Savings Account is opened before their first birthday, subject to UCCU membership and account eligibility requirements |
| Deadline | No stated expiration date |
| Bonus Timing | UCCU makes the first $10 deposit when the qualifying account is opened |
| Official Offer | View UCCU Baby Bucks Offer |
UCCU’s Baby Bucks promotion is a $10 initial deposit for eligible children whose BeMoneySmart Savings Account is opened before their first birthday.
This is a restricted youth offer based on the child’s age at account opening. UCCU membership and account eligibility requirements also apply.
For UCCU’s other current incentives, see UCCU Promotions.
Review the official UCCU offer before opening an account to confirm the Baby Bucks promotion remains available and that you meet the current membership and eligibility requirements.
Special Eligibility and Restricted Promotions
Some savings account bonuses are available only to customers who meet specific eligibility requirements. UtahFi may include these offers when they are legitimate savings incentives available to qualifying Utah consumers, even if they are not available to everyone.
Student Eligibility
Some promotions are limited to students enrolled in qualifying schools, colleges, or universities. Age requirements, enrollment status, membership rules, or other conditions may also apply.
Military Eligibility
Military-focused savings promotions may be restricted to active-duty service members, veterans, military families, or other eligible groups defined by the institution.
Youth Savings Offers
Youth savings promotions may have age limits, parent or guardian requirements, joint ownership rules, or membership conditions. Eligibility can vary significantly by institution and account type.
Other Restrictions
Savings promotions may also be limited by membership, employer participation, location, new-customer status, or another qualification requirement. Any important restrictions are identified in the individual offer sections.
Because eligibility requirements can change, review the official promotion terms before opening or funding an account.
How Savings Account Bonuses Work
Savings account bonuses can require more than simply opening an account. Depending on the promotion, customers may need to deposit new money, maintain a required balance, keep funds in the account for a specific period, or meet other eligibility requirements before the bonus is paid.
New-Customer Eligibility
Some savings bonuses are limited to new customers or new account holders. An institution may also exclude customers who recently closed a similar account or received a previous promotion.
New-Money Requirements
Many savings promotions require new money from outside the institution. Transfers from another account at the same bank or credit union may not qualify, and some promotions use a lookback period to determine whether funds are considered new.
Minimum Balance Requirements
Some offers require a specific balance to qualify for a bonus. Higher deposit tiers may also unlock larger bonus amounts, so the amount deposited can directly affect the incentive earned.
Balance Maintenance Periods
A qualifying deposit may need to remain in the account for 30, 60, 90, or more days. Withdrawing funds too early or allowing the balance to fall below the required amount can cause the customer to lose eligibility.
Qualification Windows
Promotions may require deposits or other qualifying activity to be completed within a specific period after account opening or offer enrollment. Missing that window can prevent the bonus from being earned.
Bonus Payment Timing
Bonuses are not always paid immediately. Some institutions deposit the incentive shortly after the requirements are completed, while others may wait several weeks or make payments in installments.
Monthly Fees and Account Requirements
Monthly account fees can reduce the practical value of a savings bonus. Before opening an account, review any fee-waiver requirements and determine whether the account still makes sense after the promotion ends.
Early Account Closure
Some institutions may require the account to remain open for a minimum period or may reserve the right to reverse a bonus if the account is closed too soon. Review the official terms before withdrawing funds or closing the account.
Taxes on Savings Account Bonuses
Savings account bonuses may be treated as taxable income. The institution may issue a tax form when required, and customers should keep records of any bonuses received.
How UtahFi Compares Savings Bonuses
UtahFi uses a consistent methodology to organize the offers in this article so readers can compare savings account bonuses on the same basis. For readers comparing deposit incentives across account types, UtahFi’s Checking Account Bonuses in Utah covers checking-specific offers, while Best Bank Promotions in Utah compares current promotions across multiple banking products and offer types.
Sorted by Maximum Advertised Bonus
Offers are listed from the highest maximum advertised savings-related bonus to the lowest. When two offers have the same maximum bonus amount, they are ordered alphabetically by institution.
This Is Not a Ranking
The order does not represent a UtahFi recommendation or judgment about which account is better. Factors such as deposit requirements, balance requirements, holding periods, monthly fees, and eligibility restrictions do not change an offer’s position in the comparison.
Only Savings-Related Bonus Amounts Are Counted
When an institution promotes a larger incentive spanning multiple financial products, UtahFi counts only the portion directly attributable to savings-related activity. Broader headline amounts are not used unless the full amount can be earned through qualifying savings activity.
Restricted Offers Can Be Included
Promotions limited by age, student status, military eligibility, membership, location, or another qualification requirement can still be included when they are legitimate savings bonuses available to qualifying Utah consumers. Restrictions are identified so readers can quickly determine whether an offer may apply to them.
Private Banking and Wealth Offers May Be Excluded
UtahFi may exclude promotions primarily designed for private banking or wealth-management customers when the main qualification depends on substantial transferred assets rather than ordinary consumer savings activity.
Official Sources Take Priority
UtahFi reviews institution promotion pages and verifies changing terms against current official bank or credit union sources whenever possible. If official terms change, the official source takes precedence over previously published UtahFi information.
This methodology is intended to keep the comparison focused on current savings incentives while making important eligibility and qualification differences clear.
Savings Account Bonus FAQ
What is a savings account bonus?
A savings account bonus is a cash incentive or account credit offered for opening, funding, or maintaining an eligible savings account and completing specific promotional requirements.
Are larger savings account bonuses always better?
Not necessarily. A larger bonus may require a much higher deposit, longer holding period, stricter eligibility rules, or more account requirements. The maximum advertised bonus is only one factor to consider when comparing offers.
Do savings account bonuses require new money?
Some do. A promotion may require funds to come from outside the bank or credit union, while other offers are based on balance growth, account opening, or another qualifying activity. Review the official terms to see how the institution defines new money.
How long do I have to keep money in the savings account?
It depends on the promotion. Some offers require maintaining a qualifying balance for 30, 60, 90, or more days, while others use different qualification periods or recurring monthly requirements.
Can existing customers qualify for savings bonuses?
Sometimes. Some offers are limited to new customers or new account holders, while others may be available to existing members who open an eligible savings product or meet another promotional requirement.
Can I withdraw the money after receiving the bonus?
Usually, but the account may still have minimum balance rules, early-closure conditions, or other requirements. Review the promotion terms before withdrawing funds or closing the account.
How long does it take to receive a savings account bonus?
Payment timing varies by institution. Some bonuses are credited shortly after the requirements are completed, while others may take several weeks or be paid in multiple installments.
Are savings account bonuses taxable?
Savings account bonuses may be treated as taxable income. The institution may issue a tax form when required, so customers should keep records of any promotional payments received.
Do credit unions offer savings account bonuses in Utah?
Yes. Banks and credit unions can both offer savings incentives, including promotions tied to account opening, deposits, balance growth, membership, or special eligibility.
How often does UtahFi update savings account bonuses?
UtahFi reviews savings account promotions periodically and updates this article as qualifying offers change, expire, or become available. Because promotion terms can change without notice, readers should confirm the official offer before opening or funding an account.
Editorial Note
UtahFi reviews the savings account promotions and official offer terms included in this article using current information from banks, credit unions, and other official sources whenever possible.
Promotions can change, expire, or be withdrawn without notice. Bonus amounts, deposit requirements, balance requirements, eligibility rules, account fees, qualification periods, and payment timing may also change.
UtahFi has not reviewed every savings account bonus available in Utah. Additional offers may be added as more banks and credit unions are reviewed and qualifying promotions are verified.
Before opening or funding an account, review the current official promotion terms directly with the bank or credit union to confirm the offer remains available and that you meet all requirements.