Overview
Checking account bonuses in Utah can give new customers extra cash for opening an eligible account and completing specific requirements, such as receiving qualifying direct deposits, making debit card transactions, or maintaining certain account activity. Bonus amounts, eligibility rules, deadlines, and payment timing can vary significantly by institution.
This article compares current checking account bonuses available from banks and credit unions UtahFi has reviewed, with each offer listed by its maximum advertised checking-related bonus amount. For a broader explanation of the terminology used throughout UtahFi’s Incentives category, see Bank Bonuses, Promotions, Rewards, and Incentives: What’s the Difference?
Offers are listed by maximum advertised bonus amount, from highest to lowest. This ordering does not represent a UtahFi ranking or recommendation. UtahFi has not reviewed every checking account bonus available in Utah, so additional offers may be available from institutions not yet included in this article. As UtahFi reviews additional institutions and verifies qualifying checking bonuses, those offers will be added.
Use the comparison below to review current offers, then check the individual bonus sections for eligibility, requirements, deadlines, and official promotion details.
Table of Contents
- Quick Comparison
- Checking Account Bonus Offers
- BMO Checking — Up to $600
- Key Select Checking — $500
- U.S. Bank Smartly Checking — Up to $450
- Chase Total Checking — $400
- SoFi Checking and Savings — Up to $400
- Wells Fargo Everyday Checking — $325
- Canyon View Credit Union Checking-Related Promotion — Up to $300
- Key Smart Checking — $300
- UCCU Checking — $300
- Capital One 360 Checking — $250
- Chartway Cash Back Checking — $250
- Goldenwest Smart Money — Up to $250
- Zions Bank Bank@Work Advantage Checking — $250
- Chase Secure Banking — $175
- Mountain America MyStyle Checking — $150
- Chase High School Checking — $125
- Wells Fargo Clear Access Banking — $125
- Special Eligibility and Restricted Promotions
- How Checking Account Bonuses Work
- How UtahFi Compares Checking Bonuses
- Checking Account Bonus FAQ
- Editorial Note
Quick Comparison: Checking Account Bonuses in Utah
The table below compares current checking account bonuses from banks and credit unions UtahFi has reviewed. Requirements are simplified for comparison; review the individual offer sections below for eligibility, qualification details, deadlines, and bonus timing.
| Institution | Checking Account | Maximum Bonus | Key Requirement | Expiration |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BMO Bank | Eligible Personal Checking Accounts | Up to $600 | $1,000+ in qualifying direct deposits each qualifying month | Dec. 15, 2026 |
| KeyBank | Key Select Checking | $500 | $5,000 in eligible direct deposits within 90 days | Dec. 11, 2026 |
| U.S. Bank | Bank Smartly Checking | Up to $450 | Two or more qualifying direct deposits totaling $8,000+ within 90 days | Nov. 10, 2026 |
| Chase Bank | Chase Total Checking | $400 | $1,000 in qualifying direct deposits within 90 days | Oct. 14, 2026 |
| SoFi Bank | SoFi Checking and Savings | Up to $400 | Qualifying direct deposits during the evaluation period | Dec. 31, 2026 |
| Wells Fargo | Everyday Checking | $325 | $1,000 in qualifying electronic deposits within 90 days | Oct. 13, 2026 |
| Canyon View Credit Union | Checking-Related Promotion | Up to $300 | Qualifying direct deposit and Visa activity | Dec. 31, 2026 |
| KeyBank | Key Smart Checking | $300 | $2,000 in eligible direct deposits within 90 days | Dec. 11, 2026 |
| UCCU | Qualifying Checking Account | $300 | New qualifying direct deposit | Limited time |
| Capital One | 360 Checking | $250 | Qualifying direct deposits or debit transactions | No stated end date |
| Chartway Credit Union | Cash Back Checking | $250 | New money, eStatements, and qualifying debit purchases | No stated end date |
| Goldenwest Credit Union | Smart Money | Up to $250 | Qualifying account activity; ages 13–25 | Dec. 31, 2026 |
| Zions Bank | Bank@Work Advantage Checking | $250 | Participating employer and qualifying direct deposit | No published end date |
| Chase Bank | Chase Secure Banking | $175 | 10 qualifying transactions within 60 days | Oct. 14, 2026 |
| Mountain America Credit Union | MyStyle Checking | $150 | Qualifying promotional eligibility and direct deposit. | Varies by promotion |
| Chase Bank | Chase High School Checking | $125 | 5 qualifying transactions; ages 13–17 | Oct. 14, 2026 |
| Wells Fargo | Clear Access Banking | $125 | 10 qualifying transactions within 60 days | Oct. 13, 2026 |
Canyon View Credit Union’s up-to-$300 amount reflects only the portion of its broader up-to-$700 promotion attributable to checking-related activity. Other portions of the promotion require additional products or activities and are not counted as checking account bonuses here.
Some offers have additional age, employer, membership, location, or new-customer restrictions. Review the individual offer details and official promotion terms before opening an account.
BMO Personal Checking — Up to $600
BMO Bank currently offers qualifying new personal checking customers up to $600. The offer applies to BMO Smart Money Checking, BMO Smart Advantage Checking, and BMO Relationship Checking, and is available to qualifying Utah residents.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | BMO Bank |
| Account | BMO Smart Money Checking, BMO Smart Advantage Checking, or BMO Relationship Checking |
| Bonus | Up to $600 |
| Requirements | Earn $100 for each qualifying month with at least $1,000 in cumulative qualifying direct deposits, for up to 6 months |
| Direct Deposit | At least $1,000 in qualifying direct deposits during each qualifying month |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $25 |
| Monthly Fee | Smart Advantage: $0; Smart Money: $5, or $0 for customers under age 25; Relationship Checking: $25, with available waiver options |
| Eligibility | New BMO personal checking customers whose primary applicant resides in an eligible state, including Utah. Existing BMO personal checking customers and customers who closed a BMO personal checking account within the previous 12 months are excluded. |
| Deadline | December 15, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | Each earned $100 bonus is generally paid about 10 days after the beginning of the following month |
| Official Offer | View BMO Checking Bonus Offer |
BMO structures this promotion as six possible $100 monthly bonuses rather than one $600 payment. Tracking begins the month after account opening, and each month with at least $1,000 in qualifying direct deposits can earn another $100. Missing the requirement in one month does not prevent the customer from qualifying in later months during the six-month tracking period.
Qualifying direct deposits generally include electronically deposited regular income such as payroll, pension, Social Security, or other government benefits. Transfers from bank or brokerage accounts, Zelle, Venmo, wire transfers, and merchant payment platforms do not qualify.
For BMO’s other current incentives, see BMO Bank Promotions.
Review the official BMO offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
Key Select Checking — $500
KeyBank currently offers qualifying new customers a $500 bonus for opening Key Select Checking and meeting the promotion’s direct deposit requirements.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | KeyBank |
| Account | Key Select Checking |
| Bonus | $500 |
| Requirements | Open a new Key Select Checking account using offer code KDMB0526, make the minimum opening deposit, and receive at least $5,000 in eligible direct deposits within 90 days of account opening |
| Direct Deposit | At least $5,000 in eligible direct deposits within 90 days |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $50 |
| Monthly Fee | $25; waived for the first 3 months and afterward when qualifying requirements are met |
| Eligibility | New Key Select Checking customers. The offer is not available to individuals who were a primary owner of a KeyBank personal checking account within the previous 12 months. KeyBank employees are also excluded, and geographic restrictions apply. |
| Deadline | December 11, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The $500 bonus is deposited within 60 days after the requirements are met, provided the account remains open at the time of payment |
| Official Offer | View Key Select Checking Bonus Offer |
To earn the $500 account-opening bonus, qualifying customers must receive at least $5,000 in eligible direct deposits within the first 90 days. Eligible deposits generally include electronic ACH deposits such as payroll, Social Security, pension, and government benefits. Teller, ATM, and mobile check deposits do not count toward the requirement.
Key Select Checking is an interest-bearing checking account that also offers a separate $100 annual cash bonus when its ongoing qualification requirements are met. That recurring benefit is separate from the $500 new-account bonus covered in this article.
For KeyBank’s other current incentives, see KeyBank Promotions.
Review the official KeyBank offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
U.S. Bank Smartly Checking — Up to $450
U.S. Bank currently offers qualifying new customers up to a $450 bonus for opening U.S. Bank Smartly Checking, enrolling in online or mobile banking, and completing the required qualifying direct deposits within 90 days.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | U.S. Bank |
| Account | U.S. Bank Smartly Checking |
| Bonus | Up to $450 |
| Requirements | Open a new U.S. Bank Smartly Checking account, enroll in the U.S. Bank Mobile App or online banking within 90 days, and complete at least 2 qualifying direct deposits within 90 days totaling $2,000 or more |
| Direct Deposit | Earn $250 with qualifying direct deposits totaling $2,000–$4,999.99, $350 with $5,000–$7,999.99, or $450 with $8,000 or more within 90 days |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $25 |
| Monthly Fee | $12; multiple fee-waiver options are available under current U.S. Bank Smartly Checking terms |
| Eligibility | New U.S. Bank Smartly Checking customers. The offer is not available if any owner on the new account currently has a U.S. Bank consumer checking account, had one within the previous 12 months, or received another U.S. Bank consumer checking bonus within the previous 12 months. |
| Deadline | November 10, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The bonus is generally deposited within 30 days after the qualification requirements are completed, provided the account remains open and in good standing |
| Official Offer | View U.S. Bank Smartly Checking Bonus Offer |
To earn a bonus, qualifying customers must complete at least 2 qualifying direct deposits within 90 days. The bonus amount depends on the combined amount of those deposits: $250 for $2,000–$4,999.99, $350 for $5,000–$7,999.99, or the full $450 for $8,000 or more.
Customers must also enroll in the U.S. Bank Mobile App or online banking within 90 days of opening the account. The account requires a $25 minimum opening deposit.
U.S. Bank Smartly Checking has a $12 monthly maintenance fee, but U.S. Bank provides several ways to waive it, including qualifying direct deposits, balance requirements, eligible customer groups, and certain U.S. Bank relationships.
For U.S. Bank’s other current incentives, see U.S. Bank Promotions.
Review the official U.S. Bank offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
Chase Total Checking — $400
Chase Bank currently offers qualifying new customers a $400 bonus for opening Chase Total Checking and receiving the required amount of qualifying direct deposits.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Chase Bank |
| Account | Chase Total Checking |
| Bonus | $400 |
| Requirements | Open a new Chase Total Checking account and receive qualifying direct deposits totaling at least $1,000 within 90 days of offer enrollment |
| Direct Deposit | At least $1,000 in qualifying direct deposits within 90 days |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $0 |
| Monthly Fee | $15, or $0 when one of Chase’s qualifying monthly fee waiver requirements is met |
| Eligibility | New Chase checking customers. The offer is not available to existing Chase checking customers, customers whose checking accounts were closed within the previous 90 days, or customers whose accounts were closed with a negative balance within the previous 3 years. Customers may receive only one new checking account opening bonus every 2 years from the last offer enrollment date. |
| Deadline | October 14, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The $400 bonus is generally deposited within 15 days after all promotion requirements are completed, provided the account remains open and unrestricted |
| Official Offer | View Chase Total Checking Bonus Offer |
To earn the $400 bonus, qualifying customers must receive at least $1,000 in qualifying direct deposits within 90 days of enrolling in the offer. Chase generally defines qualifying direct deposits as electronic deposits of payroll, pension, or government benefits from an employer or government agency.
Person-to-person payments such as Zelle, mobile or branch check deposits, external bank transfers, wire transfers, tax refunds, dividends, and certain other transfers do not count toward the promotion’s direct deposit requirement.
You can also read UtahFi’s Chase Total Checking review for more information about the account itself, including fees, digital banking tools, ATM access, and other account features.
For Chase’s other current incentives, see Chase Bank Promotions.
Review the official Chase offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
SoFi Checking and Savings — Up to $400
SoFi Bank currently offers qualifying new and existing members up to $400 through its direct deposit bonus for SoFi Checking and Savings. The offer is available to members who have never previously established direct deposit with SoFi.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | SoFi Bank |
| Account | SoFi Checking and Savings |
| Bonus | $50 or $400 |
| Requirements | Receive the first eligible direct deposit by December 31, 2026, then receive $1,000–$4,999.99 in total eligible direct deposits during the 25-day qualification period to earn $50, or at least $5,000 to earn $400 |
| Direct Deposit | At least $1,000 in eligible direct deposits during the 25-calendar-day qualification period to earn a bonus |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $0 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 monthly service fee |
| Eligibility | New or existing SoFi members who have never previously established direct deposit with SoFi. The bonus is limited to one per member, and for joint accounts only the primary account holder’s direct deposit activity counts. |
| Deadline | December 31, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The bonus is generally deposited into SoFi Checking within 7 business days after all promotion requirements are completed |
| Official Offer | View SoFi Checking and Savings Bonus Offer |
SoFi uses a 25-calendar-day qualification period that begins when it recognizes the member’s first eligible direct deposit. Members who receive between $1,000 and $4,999.99 in total eligible direct deposits during that period earn $50, while those who receive at least $5,000 earn the full $400 bonus.
Eligible direct deposits generally include recurring electronic deposits of regular income such as payroll, pension, or government benefits. Check deposits, peer-to-peer transfers, merchant payments, bank-to-bank transfers, wire transfers, and tax refunds generally do not qualify.
For SoFi’s other current incentives, see SoFi Bank Promotions.
Review the official SoFi offer before opening an account or setting up direct deposit to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
Wells Fargo Everyday Checking — $325
Wells Fargo currently offers qualifying new customers a $325 bonus for opening an Everyday Checking account and receiving at least $1,000 in qualifying electronic deposits within 90 days.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Wells Fargo |
| Account | Wells Fargo Everyday Checking |
| Bonus | $325 |
| Requirements | Open a new eligible checking account using the offer and receive at least $1,000 in qualifying electronic deposits within 90 calendar days of account opening |
| Direct Deposit | At least $1,000 in qualifying electronic deposits within 90 days |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $25 when opening at a branch |
| Monthly Fee | $15, or $0 when one of Wells Fargo’s qualifying monthly fee waiver requirements is met |
| Eligibility | New Wells Fargo consumer checking customers. Customers who received a Wells Fargo consumer checking bonus within the previous 12 months, Wells Fargo employees, certain nonresident customers, and Wells Fargo Private Bank deposit accounts are not eligible. |
| Deadline | October 13, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The $325 bonus is generally deposited within 30 days after the offer requirements are met |
| Official Offer | View Wells Fargo Everyday Checking Bonus Offer |
To earn the $325 bonus, qualifying customers must receive at least $1,000 in qualifying electronic deposits during the first 90 calendar days after opening the account. Eligible deposits can include qualifying ACH direct deposits, certain real-time payments, and eligible electronic credits from third-party payment services.
Transfers between accounts, mobile check deposits, Zelle transactions, and deposits made at a branch or ATM do not count toward the promotion requirement.
For Wells Fargo’s other current incentives, see Wells Fargo Promotions.
Review the official Wells Fargo offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
Canyon View Credit Union Checking-Related Promotion — Up to $300
Canyon View Credit Union currently offers new members several ways to earn portions of a broader up-to-$700 promotion. For this checking account comparison, UtahFi counts only the up to $300 tied to direct deposit and qualifying Visa activity.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Canyon View Credit Union |
| Account | Qualifying Canyon View Credit Union membership and checking-related activity |
| Bonus | Up to $300 |
| Requirements | Earn up to $150 through qualifying direct deposits and up to $150 through qualifying Canyon View Visa transactions |
| Direct Deposit | Maintain at least $1,000 in qualifying direct deposit activity per month to earn $50 per month for up to 3 consecutive months |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $10 minimum balance must be maintained in Primary Savings for membership |
| Monthly Fee | Depends on the checking account selected |
| Eligibility | New Canyon View Credit Union members age 18 or older who meet membership requirements and keep the account in good standing |
| Deadline | December 31, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | Direct deposit and Visa activity bonuses are paid in $50 increments over up to 3 qualifying months |
| Official Offer | View Canyon View Credit Union Offer |
The up to $300 shown here is not Canyon View’s full advertised promotion. New members can earn up to $700 across seven qualifying activities, including account opening, direct deposit, Visa activity, an auto loan, a certificate, a mortgage, and continued account use.
For this article, UtahFi counts only the $150 direct deposit component and $150 Visa activity component. The Visa portion is earned in $50 increments for up to 3 months when at least 25 qualifying Canyon View Visa debit card, credit card, or combined transactions of at least $5 are completed during each qualifying month.
The broader promotion also includes a $50 new-account payment and another $50 after 6 months, but those amounts are tied to the overall new-member relationship rather than specifically to checking activity, so they are not included in the $300 figure used here.
For the full multi-product promotion and Canyon View’s other current incentives, see Canyon View Credit Union Promotions.
Review the official Canyon View offer before joining to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current membership and qualification requirements.
Key Smart Checking — $300
KeyBank currently offers qualifying new customers a $300 bonus for opening Key Smart Checking and receiving at least $2,000 in eligible direct deposits within 90 days.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | KeyBank |
| Account | Key Smart Checking |
| Bonus | $300 |
| Requirements | Open a new Key Smart Checking account using offer code KDMA0526, make the minimum opening deposit, and receive at least $2,000 in eligible direct deposits within 90 days of account opening |
| Direct Deposit | At least $2,000 in eligible direct deposits within 90 days |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $10 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 monthly maintenance fee |
| Eligibility | New Key Smart Checking customers who meet the offer requirements. A valid Social Security Number or Taxpayer Identification Number and U.S. address are required. KeyBank employees and employees of its affiliates and subsidiaries are not eligible. |
| Deadline | December 11, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The $300 bonus is deposited within 60 days after the requirements are met, provided the account remains open at the time of payment |
| Official Offer | View Key Smart Checking Bonus Offer |
To earn the $300 bonus, qualifying customers must receive at least $2,000 in eligible direct deposits within 90 days of opening the account. Eligible direct deposits are electronic ACH deposits and can include payroll, Social Security, pension, and government benefits.
Deposits made through a teller, ATM, or the KeyBank mobile app do not count toward the direct deposit requirement. Key Smart Checking also has no monthly maintenance fee, which distinguishes it from Key Select Checking’s fee structure.
For KeyBank’s other current incentives, see KeyBank Promotions.
Review the official KeyBank offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
UCCU Checking Bonus — $300
UCCU currently offers qualifying members a $300 direct deposit bonus tied to a new checking account. The offer is available through UCCU’s Riverton promotion and can also be accessed online using promo code GO26RV.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | UCCU |
| Account | New UCCU checking account |
| Bonus | $300 |
| Requirements | Establish a new qualifying direct deposit of at least $500 per month and receive a second qualifying direct deposit so total qualifying deposits reach at least $1,000 within 65 days of the first deposit posting |
| Direct Deposit | New to UCCU and at least $500 per month; qualifying deposits include payroll, pension, and government benefits |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Monthly Fee | Depends on the checking account selected |
| Eligibility | Subject to UCCU membership requirements and the promotion terms. The offer is available at the Riverton Branch or online using promo code GO26RV. |
| Deadline | Limited time; no specific end date published |
| Bonus Timing | Generally awarded 10–30 business days after the qualifying deposit requirements are met |
| Official Offer | View UCCU Checking Bonus Offer |
UCCU’s $300 direct deposit bonus requires the direct deposit relationship to be new to UCCU and at least $500 per month. The bonus is awarded after a second qualifying direct deposit posts and qualifying deposits total at least $1,000 within 65 days of the first direct deposit.
Qualifying direct deposits include payroll, pension, and government benefits. Peer-to-peer deposits such as Venmo, PayPal, and Apple Pay do not count toward the requirement.
UCCU may reclaim all or part of the bonus if the account is closed within 6 months of receiving the incentive. The promotion is also part of a broader set of Riverton offers that includes savings certificate, mortgage, and loan-transfer incentives.
For UCCU’s other current incentives, see UCCU Promotions.
Review the official UCCU offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current membership and qualification requirements.
Capital One 360 Checking — $250
Capital One currently offers new 360 Checking customers a $250 bonus with two different ways to qualify: through eligible debit card purchases or qualifying direct deposits.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Capital One |
| Account | Capital One 360 Checking |
| Bonus | $250 |
| Requirements | Choose one qualification path: open with promo code DEBIT250 and complete at least 20 qualifying debit card transactions of $10 or more within 75 days, or open with promo code CHECKING250 and receive at least 2 qualifying direct deposits of $500 or more each within 75 days |
| Direct Deposit | Not required if using the debit card qualification path; otherwise, 2 qualifying direct deposits of at least $500 each are required within 75 days |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $0 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 monthly maintenance fee |
| Eligibility | New 360 Checking customers who meet Capital One’s offer requirements. Only one promotional code may be used per account, and the offer cannot be combined with another 360 Checking account-opening promotion. |
| Deadline | No stated end date |
| Bonus Timing | Capital One evaluates qualification after the 75-day requirement period and may take up to 60 additional days to deposit the bonus |
| Official Offer | View Capital One 360 Checking Bonus Offer |
Capital One gives customers two ways to earn the same $250 bonus. The DEBIT250 option requires at least 20 qualifying debit card purchases of $10 or more within 75 days, while the CHECKING250 option requires 2 qualifying direct deposits of at least $500 each during the same period.
For the debit card path, qualifying purchases must be made using the 360 Checking debit card. ATM transactions, peer-to-peer payments, ACH payments, fraudulent purchases, and PIN-based cash withdrawals do not count toward the requirement.
For the direct deposit path, qualifying deposits generally include regular electronic payments such as salary, pension, Social Security, or other recurring income received from an employer or outside entity.
You can also read UtahFi’s Capital One 360 Checking review for more information about the account itself, including fees, digital banking features, ATM access, and other account details.
For Capital One’s other current incentives, see Capital One Promotions.
Review the official Capital One offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
Chartway Cash Back Checking — $250
Chartway Credit Union currently offers qualifying new Utah members a $250 bonus for opening Cash Back Checking and completing the required deposit, eStatement, and debit card activity during the same monthly cycle.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Chartway Credit Union |
| Account | Chartway Cash Back Checking |
| Bonus | $250 |
| Requirements | Open a new Chartway membership and Cash Back Checking account, enroll in eStatements, deposit at least $500 in new money, and make at least 10 qualifying debit card purchases during the same monthly cycle |
| Direct Deposit | Not required for the $250 bonus; at least $500 in new money deposits is required during the qualifying monthly cycle |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | Not specified in the promotion terms |
| Monthly Fee | $0 monthly fee; no minimum balance requirement |
| Eligibility | Individuals age 18 or older without a current Chartway membership. The offer is limited to Utah residents who open through the Herriman branch or the promotional landing page. Limit one $250 bonus per member. |
| Deadline | No stated end date |
| Bonus Timing | The $250 bonus is deposited into Cash Back Checking during the calendar month after all qualification requirements are completed |
| Official Offer | View Chartway Cash Back Checking Bonus Offer |
To earn the $250 bonus, all three activity requirements must be completed during the same monthly cycle: enroll in eStatements, make at least $500 in new money deposits, and complete at least 10 qualifying debit card purchases.
The debit card requirement does not include ATM transactions, account transfers, or small-value reloads. The promotion is limited to new Chartway members who are Utah residents and open the account through the Herriman branch or the designated promotional landing page.
Cash Back Checking also offers ongoing cash back of up to 3% on qualifying purchases when its monthly requirements are met. That ongoing account benefit is separate from the $250 new-member bonus covered here.
You can also read UtahFi’s Chartway Cash Back Checking review for more information about the account itself, including its cash-back structure, fees, and account features.
For Chartway’s other current incentives, see Chartway Credit Union Promotions.
Review the official Chartway offer before joining to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current membership and qualification requirements.
Goldenwest Smart Money — Up to $250
Goldenwest Credit Union currently offers members ages 13–25 up to $250 through its Smart Money promotion when they open or use an eligible SMARTStart or SMARTPay checking account and complete the required activity.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Goldenwest Credit Union |
| Account | SMARTStart Checking or SMARTPay Checking |
| Bonus | Up to $250 |
| Requirements | Earn $50 for opening an eligible checking account with a debit card and eStatements, $50 for completing 6 qualifying debit card transactions within 90 days, $100 for completing the required Smart Money courses, and $50 after one year with an active account in good standing |
| Direct Deposit | Not required for the Smart Money bonus |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | No minimum balance requirement stated for SMARTStart Checking; Goldenwest membership requirements still apply |
| Monthly Fee | $0 for SMARTStart Checking; SMARTPay is also promoted as a no-fee checking option |
| Eligibility | Goldenwest members ages 13–25. Members under age 18 need a parent or qualified joint owner on the SMARTStart or SMARTPay account. Membership and account eligibility requirements apply. |
| Deadline | December 31, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The individual incentives are paid after each requirement is completed; the final $50 is paid after the one-year anniversary when the activity and good-standing requirements are met |
| Official Offer | View Goldenwest Smart Money Offer |
Goldenwest breaks the up-to-$250 incentive into four separate payments. New eligible members can earn $50 after opening SMARTStart or SMARTPay Checking with a debit card and eStatements, another $50 after completing 6 qualifying debit card transactions within 90 days, $100 after completing the required Smart Money courses, and a final $50 after keeping the account active and in good standing for one year.
The education requirement varies by age. Members ages 13–17 must complete 10 Smart Money courses with at least an 80% passing score, while members ages 18–25 must complete 5 courses with the same passing requirement.
Existing eligible youth-account members can activate the promotion and earn up to $200, because the initial $50 account-opening incentive is available only when opening a new eligible checking account.
For Goldenwest’s other current incentives, see Goldenwest Credit Union Promotions.
Review the official Goldenwest offer before opening or activating an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current membership and qualification requirements.
Zions Bank Bank@Work Advantage Checking — $250
Zions Bank currently offers eligible employees of participating businesses a $250 bonus through its Bank@Work program when they open a new Advantage Checking account and meet the promotion requirements.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Zions Bank |
| Account | Advantage Checking through Bank@Work |
| Bonus | $250 |
| Requirements | Open a new Advantage Checking account through a participating Bank@Work employer, receive qualifying direct deposit from the employer, and keep the account open for at least 6 months |
| Direct Deposit | Qualifying employer direct deposit is required |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $50 |
| Monthly Fee | $7.50; waived with at least $250 in monthly direct deposits or a $500 minimum daily balance |
| Eligibility | Eligible employees of participating businesses enrolled in Zions Bank Bank@Work. Standard account-opening and program requirements apply. |
| Deadline | No published expiration date |
| Bonus Timing | Not specified in the public promotion summary |
| Official Offer | View Zions Bank Bank@Work Offer |
The $250 Bank@Work bonus is not available to every Zions Bank customer. It is tied to participating employers, so eligibility depends on whether the customer’s employer participates in the Bank@Work program.
The account must remain open for at least 6 months. Advantage Checking currently has a $7.50 monthly service fee, but the fee can be waived with at least $250 in monthly direct deposits or a $500 minimum daily balance.
For Zions Bank’s other current incentives, see Zions Bank Promotions.
Review the official Zions Bank Bank@Work offer before opening an account to confirm your employer participates and that you meet the current qualification requirements.
Chase Secure Banking — $175
Chase Bank currently offers qualifying new customers a $175 bonus for opening Chase Secure Banking and completing at least 10 qualifying transactions within 60 days of offer enrollment.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Chase Bank |
| Account | Chase Secure Banking |
| Bonus | $175 |
| Requirements | Open a new Chase Secure Banking account and complete at least 10 qualifying transactions within 60 days of offer enrollment |
| Direct Deposit | Not required; qualifying transactions can include debit card purchases, online bill payments, Chase QuickDeposit, Zelle, and eligible ACH credits |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $0 |
| Monthly Fee | $4.95, or $0 with at least $250 in qualifying electronic deposits during the statement period or when an account owner is age 17–24. New and converted accounts are not charged a monthly service fee for at least the first two statement periods. |
| Eligibility | New Chase checking customers who meet the offer requirements. The offer is not available to existing Chase checking customers, customers whose checking accounts were closed within the previous 90 days, or customers whose accounts were closed with a negative balance within the previous 3 years. Chase limits customers to one new checking account opening-related bonus every 2 years from the last offer enrollment date. |
| Deadline | October 14, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The $175 bonus is generally deposited within 15 days after the qualifying transactions are completed and posted, provided the account remains open and unrestricted |
| Official Offer | View Chase Secure Banking Bonus Offer |
Chase Secure Banking differs from many checking bonuses because direct deposit is not required. Customers can qualify by completing at least 10 eligible transactions within 60 days, including debit card purchases, online bill payments, Chase QuickDeposit, Zelle transactions, and qualifying ACH credits.
The account can be especially relevant to younger customers because the $4.95 monthly service fee is waived for account owners ages 17–24. Customers outside that age range can also waive the fee by receiving at least $250 in qualifying electronic deposits during the statement period.
For Chase’s other current incentives, see Chase Bank Promotions.
Review the official Chase offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
Mountain America MyStyle Checking — $150
Mountain America Credit Union currently advertises a $150 bonus for qualifying promotional audiences who open a new MyStyle Checking account and complete the applicable offer requirements.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Mountain America Credit Union |
| Account | MyStyle Checking |
| Bonus | $150 |
| Requirements | Open a new MyStyle Checking account and complete the requirements associated with the applicable $150 promotional offer. Some Mountain America campaigns require eStatements and an eligible monthly direct deposit within 60 days. |
| Direct Deposit | Required under the Select Employer version of the promotion; requirements may vary for other targeted $150 MyStyle Checking campaigns |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | No separate promotional minimum opening deposit identified beyond standard membership and account-opening requirements |
| Monthly Fee | $7; fee-waiver options apply, including qualifying account activity and certain age or balance requirements |
| Eligibility | Limited to qualifying promotional audiences. Mountain America has advertised $150 MyStyle Checking offers through targeted campaigns, including Select Employer and other audience-specific promotions. Membership and individual promotion requirements apply. |
| Deadline | Varies by promotion |
| Bonus Timing | The Select Employer version states that the $150 reward is deposited within 30 business days after the promotion requirements are met; timing may vary for other targeted campaigns |
| Official Offer | View Mountain America MyStyle Checking |
The $150 MyStyle Checking bonus is not necessarily available to every Mountain America applicant. Mountain America has promoted the same bonus amount through different targeted campaigns, so eligibility and qualification requirements can depend on the specific offer being used.
The previously reviewed Select Employer version requires a new MyStyle Checking account, eStatements, and an eligible monthly direct deposit within 60 days. Mountain America has also advertised a separate BYU-themed $150 MyStyle Checking campaign, indicating that the bonus is available through additional promotional audiences beyond the Select Employer program.
The $7 monthly service fee can reduce the effective value of the bonus if it is not waived. MyStyle Checking offers several fee-waiver paths, so qualifying customers should review the current account terms before opening.
For Mountain America’s other current incentives, see Mountain America Credit Union Promotions.
Review the specific Mountain America promotion available to you before opening an account to confirm current eligibility, qualification requirements, deadline, and bonus payment timing.
Chase High School Checking — $125
Chase Bank currently offers eligible teens a $125 bonus for opening Chase High School Checking and completing the required account activity. This is an age-restricted offer for students ages 13–17 and requires a qualifying parent or guardian as a joint owner.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Chase Bank |
| Account | Chase High School Checking |
| Bonus | $125 |
| Requirements | Open a new Chase High School Checking account and complete at least 5 qualifying transactions within 60 days of offer enrollment |
| Direct Deposit | Not required |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $0 |
| Monthly Fee | $0 monthly service fee |
| Eligibility | Students ages 13–17 with a parent or guardian as joint owner. The adult joint owner must have an eligible Chase checking account. Standard Chase promotion and account eligibility rules apply. |
| Deadline | October 14, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The $125 bonus is generally deposited within 15 days after the required qualifying transactions are completed and posted, provided the account remains open and unrestricted |
| Official Offer | View Chase High School Checking Bonus Offer |
Chase High School Checking is a restricted youth offer rather than a general consumer checking promotion. Eligible students can earn the $125 bonus by completing at least 5 qualifying transactions within 60 days, without needing to establish direct deposit.
The account requires an eligible parent or guardian as joint owner, and that adult must already have a qualifying Chase checking relationship. Once the student reaches the applicable age, Chase may transition the account to another eligible checking product under its current account terms.
For Chase’s other current incentives, see Chase Bank Promotions.
Review the official Chase offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that both the student and joint owner meet the current eligibility requirements.
Wells Fargo Clear Access Banking — $125
Wells Fargo currently offers qualifying new customers a $125 bonus for opening Clear Access Banking and completing at least 10 qualifying posted transactions within 60 days.
| Detail | Offer |
|---|---|
| Institution | Wells Fargo |
| Account | Clear Access Banking |
| Bonus | $125 |
| Requirements | Open a new Clear Access Banking account and complete at least 10 qualifying posted transactions within 60 calendar days of account opening |
| Direct Deposit | Not required |
| Minimum Opening Deposit | $25 when opening at a branch |
| Monthly Fee | $5, or $0 when an account owner is age 13–24 or another qualifying fee-waiver condition is met |
| Eligibility | New Wells Fargo consumer checking customers who meet the offer requirements. Additional eligibility restrictions apply, including prior bonus and account-ownership limitations. |
| Deadline | October 13, 2026 |
| Bonus Timing | The $125 bonus is generally deposited within 30 days after the qualification requirements are met |
| Official Offer | View Wells Fargo Clear Access Banking Bonus Offer |
Clear Access Banking is one of the offers in this article that does not require direct deposit. Instead, qualifying customers can earn the $125 bonus by completing at least 10 eligible posted transactions during the first 60 calendar days.
The account is designed with younger customers in mind, and the $5 monthly service fee is waived for account owners ages 13–24. Other fee-waiver conditions may also apply under Wells Fargo’s current account terms.
For Wells Fargo’s other current incentives, see Wells Fargo Promotions.
Review the official Wells Fargo offer before opening an account to confirm the promotion remains available and that you meet the current eligibility requirements.
Special Eligibility and Restricted Promotions
Some checking account bonuses in Utah are available only to specific groups rather than to every new customer. UtahFi includes these offers because they are legitimate checking incentives available to qualifying Utah consumers, but the eligibility restrictions are important when comparing them with broader promotions.
- Canyon View Credit Union: UtahFi lists only the up to $300 tied to checking-related activity. This amount is part of Canyon View’s broader up-to-$700 new-member promotion, which also includes incentives tied to other products and activities.
- UCCU: The $300 checking bonus is connected to the Riverton promotion and can also be accessed online using the applicable promotional code while the offer remains available.
- Chartway Credit Union: The $250 Cash Back Checking bonus is limited to Utah residents who are not current Chartway members and who open through the Herriman branch or designated promotional landing page.
- Goldenwest Credit Union: The Smart Money promotion is limited to members ages 13–25, with additional requirements for members under age 18.
- Zions Bank: The $250 Bank@Work bonus is available only to eligible employees of participating businesses.
- Mountain America Credit Union: The $150 MyStyle Checking bonus is limited to qualifying participants in the credit union’s Select Employer program.
- Chase High School Checking: The $125 bonus is restricted to students ages 13–17 with an eligible parent or guardian as joint owner.
Restricted offers remain included in the comparison because they may provide meaningful value to eligible Utah consumers, but readers should confirm the applicable age, employer, membership, location, or promotional requirements before opening an account.
How Checking Account Bonuses Work
Checking account bonuses typically reward new customers for opening an eligible account and completing specific activity within a set qualification period. The exact requirements vary by institution, but most offers use a combination of direct deposits, account activity, minimum deposits, or eligibility restrictions.
New-Customer Eligibility
Many promotions are limited to new checking customers or people who have not owned a qualifying account with the institution for a certain period. Some offers also exclude customers who recently received another checking bonus from the same institution.
Direct Deposit Requirements
Direct deposit is one of the most common qualification requirements. Institutions usually define eligible deposits as recurring electronic payments such as payroll, pension, Social Security, or government benefits. Transfers between personal accounts, mobile check deposits, peer-to-peer payments, and similar transactions often do not qualify.
Debit Card and Account Activity
Some checking bonuses do not require direct deposit and instead use debit card purchases, bill payments, electronic deposits, or other qualifying transactions. When an offer requires a certain number of transactions, the institution’s terms determine which activities count.
Qualification Windows
Most offers require customers to complete the necessary activity within a specific period, such as 60, 75, or 90 days after account opening. Missing the qualification window can result in losing eligibility for the bonus even if the account remains open.
Bonus Payment Timing
Meeting the requirements does not always mean the bonus is paid immediately. Institutions may take several days or several weeks to verify qualification and deposit the incentive into the account.
Monthly Fees and Account Requirements
A checking bonus can be reduced in practical value if the account charges a monthly maintenance fee. Before opening an account, review the fee and any available waiver requirements, along with minimum balance or ongoing activity requirements. UtahFi’s Best Checking Accounts in Utah compares the accounts themselves beyond their current bonus offers.
Early Account Closure
Some institutions require the account to remain open for a minimum period or reserve the right to reclaim a bonus if the account is closed too soon. These restrictions are usually included in the official promotion terms.
Taxes on Checking Account Bonuses
Checking account bonuses may be reported as taxable income. An institution may issue an applicable tax form when required, so customers should keep records of bonuses received and consult a tax professional when appropriate.
Always review the official promotion terms before opening an account, because eligibility rules, qualification requirements, fees, deadlines, and payment timing can change.
How UtahFi Compares Checking Bonuses
UtahFi uses a consistent methodology to organize the offers in this article so readers can compare checking account bonuses on the same basis. For a broader look at incentives beyond checking accounts, UtahFi’s Best Bank Promotions in Utah compares current promotions across multiple banking products and offer types.
Sorted by Maximum Advertised Bonus
Offers are listed from the highest maximum advertised checking-related bonus to the lowest. When two offers have the same maximum bonus amount, they are ordered alphabetically by institution.
This Is Not a Ranking
The order does not represent a UtahFi recommendation or judgment about which account is better. Factors such as monthly fees, qualification difficulty, direct deposit requirements, account features, and eligibility restrictions do not change an offer’s position in the comparison.
Only Checking-Related Bonus Amounts Are Counted
When an institution promotes a larger incentive spanning multiple financial products, UtahFi counts only the portion directly attributable to checking-related activity. For example, Canyon View Credit Union advertises a broader promotion of up to $700, but this article lists only the amount that can be earned through qualifying checking-related activity.
Restricted Offers Can Be Included
Promotions limited by age, employer participation, membership, location, or another eligibility requirement can still be included when they are legitimate checking bonuses available to qualifying Utah consumers. Restrictions are identified so readers can quickly determine whether an offer may apply to them.
Private Banking and Wealth Offers May Be Excluded
UtahFi may exclude promotions primarily designed for private banking or wealth-management customers when the main qualification depends on substantial transferred assets rather than ordinary consumer checking activity.
Official Sources Take Priority
UtahFi reviews institution promotion pages and verifies changing terms against current official bank or credit union sources whenever possible. If official terms change, the official source takes precedence over previously published UtahFi information.
This methodology is intended to keep the comparison focused on current checking incentives while making important eligibility and qualification differences clear.
Checking Account Bonus FAQ
What are checking account bonuses?
A checking account bonus is an incentive offered by a bank or credit union for opening or using an eligible checking account and completing specified requirements. These may include direct deposits, debit card purchases, minimum deposits, or other qualifying account activity.
Which checking account currently offers the largest bonus in this article?
Among the offers UtahFi has reviewed and included in this article, BMO currently has the highest maximum checking bonus at up to $600. This reflects the current researched set and may change as promotions expire, change, or additional institutions are reviewed.
Do checking account bonuses in Utah require direct deposit?
Not always. Many checking bonuses require qualifying direct deposits, but others can be earned through debit card purchases, electronic transactions, deposits of new money, or other account activity. Each institution defines which transactions qualify.
Can existing customers qualify for checking account bonuses?
It depends on the promotion. Many offers are limited to new checking customers, while others may allow existing members who are opening a new account or establishing a new qualifying activity. Look closely at the eligibility rules for each offer.
How long does it take to receive a checking account bonus?
Payment timing varies by institution. Some bonuses are deposited within several days after qualification, while others may take 30–60 days or be paid in installments over several months.
Are checking account bonuses taxable?
Checking account bonuses may be reported as taxable income, and an institution may issue an applicable tax form when required. Tax treatment can depend on individual circumstances, so consult a qualified tax professional when necessary.
Do credit unions offer checking account bonuses in Utah?
Yes. Several credit unions in this article offer checking incentives, including Canyon View Credit Union, UCCU, Chartway Credit Union, Goldenwest Credit Union, and Mountain America Credit Union. Credit union membership and other eligibility requirements may apply.
How often does UtahFi update checking account bonuses?
UtahFi reviews promotions periodically and updates this article as offers expire, terms change, or additional institutions are researched. Because promotions can change without notice, readers should always verify current terms through the institution’s official offer page before opening an account.
Editorial Note
UtahFi reviewed the checking account bonuses in this article using current institution promotion pages and official offer terms available as of October 1st, 2026.
Promotions can change, expire, or be withdrawn without notice. Bonus amounts, eligibility requirements, qualification periods, account fees, and payment timing may also change after publication.
UtahFi does not include every checking account bonus available in Utah. Additional offers may be added as more institutions are reviewed and qualifying promotions are verified.
Before opening an account, review the institution’s official promotion terms and account disclosures to confirm the offer is still available and that you meet all current requirements.